How long should you leave coffee in a french press?

4 minutes, Stir vigorously, using an up and down motion. Steep for 4 minutes. Let steep for 4 minutes to produce a robust brew. If you want to tweak your French press as you learn its nuances, you may find that different roasts of coffee do better with slightly longer or shorter steeping times.

---

The brew time for a coffee press or French press is typically four minutes.