What is sodium chloride?

Salt is an inorganic compound, meaning it doesn’t come from living matter. It’s made when Na (sodium) and Cl (chloride) come together to form white, crystalline cubes. Your body needs salt to function, but too little or too much salt can be harmful to your health.