What's in catnip?

Catnip is a plant called Nepeta cataria, a shrub in the mint family. It's native to Europe and Asia but now grows wildly across the Americas as well, along roads and highways. The plant produces a chemical called nepetalactone in microscopic bulbs that coat its leaves, stems, and seedpods.