What is the purpose of a dewclaw?

According to google, at high speeds (especially when turning) or on slippery surfaces, dewclaws provide extra traction; help stabilize the carpal joint. Some dogs use their dewclaws to help climb trees, hold objects to better chew on them, or climb out of the water if they've broken through ice.