Why is mcdonald's named mcdonald's?

McDonald's Corporation was founded in 1940 as a restaurant operated by Richard and Maurice McDonald, in San Bernardino, California. They rechristened their business as a hamburger stand with the Golden Arches logo being introduced in 1953 at a location in Phoenix, Arizona.