What is the seven seas?

In Greek Literature the seven seas were Aegean, Adriatic, Mediterranean, Black, Red, and Caspian sea and the Persian Gulf in its first use. Mariners now refer to the seven seas as Arctic, the Atlantic, the Indian, the Pacific, the Mediterranean, the Caribbean, and the Gulf of Mexico.