What is the definition of coal?

a piece of glowing or charred wood : ember. 2 : a black or brownish black solid substance that is formed by the partial decay of vegetable matter under the influence of moisture and often increased pressure and temperature within the earth and that is widely used as a fuel. coal. verb.