Which planet in our solar system was originally named georges starr?

The planet Uranus ... Named after King George III

---

It is better known as Uranus. English astronomer William Herschel discovered the planet in 1781. As he lived in England, Herschel originally wanted to name Uranus after his patron, King George III. Specifically, he wanted to call it Georgium Sidus (Latin for “George's Star”), or the Georgian Planet.