What state is puerto rico in?

Puerto Rico is a Caribbean island and unincorporated U.S. territory.

---

'Free Associated State of Puerto Rico'), is a Caribbean island and unincorporated territory of the United States. As such, the island of Puerto Rico is neither a sovereign nation nor a U.S. state.