Why is it fire truck red?

Fire trucks are red because at the time of the Model T Ford, all cars were painted black - which was the cheapest car paint colour at the time. Emergency vehicles needed to stand out and red was determined to be the best stand-out colour - as well as the most expensive car paint at the time.

---

Due to most cars being black, it was easy to distinguish cars and emergency vehicles with the bright red.