Why is the raspberry called a raspberry?

Raspberry derives its name from raspise, "a sweet rose-colored wine", from the Anglo-Latin vinum raspeys, or from raspoie, meaning "thicket", of Germanic origin. The name may have been influenced by its appearance as having a rough surface, related to Old English rasp or "rough berry".

---

Raspberry is the name given to two plant species in the genus Rubus, Rubus idaeus (red raspberry) and Rubus occidentalis (black raspberry) grown for their edible fruit. Raspberry plants have perennial root systems and biennial stems which are known as canes.