Who is lady whistle down?

In the books, Lady Whistledown's identity isn't revealed until the fourth book, Romancing Mister Bridgerton. The plot revolves around Colin Bridgerton and his love interest, Penelope Featherington, who is revealed during Romancing Mr. Bridgerton to be none other than Lady Whistledown