How many astronauts are there in the united states?

As of May 2020, the corps has 48 "active" astronauts consisting of 16 women and 32 men. All of the current astronaut corps are from the classes of 1996 (Group 16) or later. The highest number of active astronauts at one time was in 2000 when there were 149.