What does the boyband b. t. s. stand for?

The group's name, BTS, stands for the Korean phrase Bangtan Sonyeondan, literally meaning "Bulletproof Boy Scouts". According to member J-Hope, the name signifies the group's desire "to block out stereotypes, criticisms, and expectations that aim on adolescents like bullets".