Why is it called a tea towel?

Tea towels are said to have originated in 18th-century England, where the lady of the household would use them to dry fine china and delicate tea sets.

---

Tea towels or tea cloths originated in 18th-century England. They were absorbent towels made from soft, lint-free linen. They would often be wrapped around the tea pot to keep the tea warm, prevent drips, and keep one's hand from being burned by the hot tea pot handle when serving the tea.