What does a weighted blanket do?

Weighted blankets are heavy blankets used for therapeutic purposes, such as relieving anxiety and stress. Usually between five and 30 pounds, weighted blankets are filled with plastic pellets or glass beads. The added weight is designed to produce a calming effect when placed on the body.