Where does psyllium husk come from?

It comes from a shrub-like herb called Plantago ovata that grows worldwide but is most common in India. Each plant can produce up to 15,000 tiny, gel-coated seeds, from which psyllium husk is derived. The soluble fiber found in psyllium husks can help lower cholesterol.