Are chimpanzees friendly?

As babies, chimpanzees are loving and playful. But as they grow up, their intelligence makes it hard to keep them stimulated and happy. By age 5, they are stronger than humans, and are destructive and resentful of discipline, and can bite. Owners have lost fingers and suffered severe facial damage.