How do you blanch beats?

Wash the beets in cool water. ... Trim the stem off each beet, leaving 1 inch attached. ... Bring a pot of water to a full boil. ... Boil small beets for 20 minutes and large beets for 40 minutes. Drain the beets in a colander immediately at the end of the boiling time.