What is nutritional yeast?

Nutritional yeast, also referred to as nooch or hippy dust, is a deactivated yeast, often a strain of Saccharomyces cerevisiae, that is sold commercially as a food product. It is sold in the form of yellow flakes, granules, or powder and can be found in the bulk aisle of most natural food stores.