Are men more likely to be struck by lightning?

According to the National Weather Service, men account for 79% of all lightning-related deaths each year. Many are fishing; playing golf, baseball, or football; or running when lightning is active. Women are killed most often while on boats or pursuing routine activities such as running errands.