Which portuguese explorer was the first european to sail to the southern tip of africa?

In 1488, Portuguese explorer Bartolomeu Dias (c. 1450-1500) became the first European mariner/explorer to round the southern tip of Africa, opening the way for a sea route from Europe to Asia.