Why did phineas and ferb get canceled?

Huffpost interviewed Phineas & Ferb's creators, Dan Povenmire & Jeff Marsh, who said "We didn't want our show to be one of those that wore out its welcome. We really wanted to go out strong. Shut down production while people were still fond of the show and its characters."