How do you preserve half an avocado?

Once it has been cut, store avocado in the refrigerator. If you cover it tightly so that air can not get to it, that will prevent browning. Another way to prevent browning is to keep the pit in the avocado or to use lemon or lime juice to cover exposed areas.