Do giraffes lay down to sleep?

Giraffe often rest while standing up, but new research shows that they lie down more often than previously thought. When lying down, they fold their legs under their body, but mostly keeping their necks held high. Research in zoos has shown that giraffe go into REM sleep when in this position.