When was the last case of polio?

Following introduction of effective vaccines in 1955 inactivated polio vaccine and in 1961 the oral poliovirus vaccine, polio incidence declined rapidly. The last case of wild polio virus acquired in the US was in 1979. Polio has recently been found in waste water meaning a potential return