Do chinchillas make good pets?

To answer the question, yes, chinchillas make good pets! They require minimal attention, they're clean (although messy), and sleep while you're at work. Chinchillas are not nocturnal, they're crepuscular. ... With that said, pet chinchillas are typically not recommended for children.