What's the definition of self righteousness?

According to the Merriam-Webster Dictionary, someone who is self-righteous is convinced of their own moral superiority, that their beliefs, actions, or affiliations are of greater virtue than those of another, or the average person. Another word might be sanctimonious, or perhaps holier-than-thou.