Can you use coconut oil instead of shortening?

No. First, coconut oil is one of the worst things for your body, full of trans and saturated fats. Coconut oil is great topically, but not internally. You need a solid fat (such as shortening) to be able to make quick breads because the fat must be solid and cold to create the proper flake.