What does a tone mean?

Tone can refer to a musical or vocal sound . It can also refer to the general character or attitude of a place, piece of writing, situation, etc. Another meaning is to give greater strength or firmness to (the body or a muscle. Lastly, in photography a tone is a finishing color given to an image.