How do you stop a dog from nipping?

Substitute a toy or chew bone when your dog tries to gnaw on fingers or toes; Encourage noncontact forms of play, such as fetch & tug-of-war, rather than wrestling & rough play with your hands; Teach your dog impulse control with specific exercises such as sit, wait and leave it.