Who was the first d. j.?

In 1935, American radio commentator Walter Winchell coined the term "disc jockey". In 1943, radio DJ Jimmy Savile launched the world's first DJ dance party by playing jazz records in the upstairs function room of the Loyal Order of Ancient Shepherds in Otley, England.