Where do tumble weeds come from?

A tumbleweed is a part of the above-ground crown of certain plants, that, once it matures, detaches from its root or stem, and rolls due to the force of the wind, scattering seeds as it rolls along. The most common species of tumbleweed, Salsola tragus, was introduced to South Dakota in the 1800s.