When did hurricane katrina happen?

Hurricane Katrina Aug. 23, 2005 – Aug. 31, 2005 DescriptionHurricane Katrina was a large Category 5 Atlantic hurricane that caused over 1,800 deaths and $125 billion in damage in late August 2005, particularly in the city of New Orleans and the surrounding areas.