Why does lettuce rust?

Lettuce rust is technically known as "russet spotting." Russet spotting on lettuce is safe to eat, but it does make the food unattractive. Russet spotting occurs because of a chemical reaction that involves ethylene gas, and it can be minimized with certain handling and storage practices.