Who invented the hot dog?

Frankfurt-am-Main, Germany, is traditionally credited with originating the frankfurter. However, this claim is disputed by those who assert that the popular sausage was created in the late 1600's by Johann Georghehner, a butcher, from Coburg, Germany.