Why do we say bless you when someone sneezes?

people once held the belief that a person's soul could be thrown from the body when they sneezed, that sneezing opened the body to invasion by evil spirits, or that sneezing was the body's effort to force out an evil presence. In these cases, bless you is used as a sort of shield against evil.