Can you craft sponges in minecraft?

As of Minecraft version 1.16, sponges are not craftable, but players can still find them. Wet sponges can be found in a few different ways. If players manage to kill an older guardian, the guardian will drop one wet sponge. Ocean Monuments may also have what's called a sponge room.