What does it mean to coarsely chop something?

To coarsely chop means to cut into roughly one-half-inch pieces. Eyeball it, it does not half to be exact. The purpose of coarsely chopping is so that all the different foods cook through in roughly the same amount of time. Onions are much harder to coarsely chop.