How did cotton candy get it's name?

Joseph Lascaux, a dentist from New Orleans, Louisiana, invented a similar cotton candy machine in 1921. The Lascaux patent named the sweet confection "cotton candy", eventually overtaking the name "fairy floss", although it retains this name in Australia