Has there ever been a tornado?

A tornado is a violently rotating column of air extending from the base of a thunderstorm down to the ground. Various types of tornadoes include the multiple vortex tornado, landspout, and waterspout. The nation's last EF-5 tornado struck Moore, Oklahoma, on May 20, 2013.