What is a three alarm fire?

A three-alarm fire is a category or level of a multiple-alarm fire used to indicate the level of response by local authorities. The most widely used formula is based on the number of units, (firetrucks, tankers, rescue vehicles etc.) and firefighters responding to a fire.