What's the difference between olive oil and canola oil?

Olive oil and canola oil are very similar. They are both used for pan frying. However, since canola oil has a higher smoke point, it is normally used for deep frying. On the other hand, olive oil’s taste makes it good for dipping bread, or as a dressing for salad.