Is stitch a dog?

Stitch is a blue, koala-like, alien genetic creation standing around 3 feet tall. He is referred to as a dog throughout much of the franchise, and was thought, at first, by Lilo, to be a collie hit by a car, & Nani thought it was a koala of a sort before they found out he was a genetic experiment.