What was the magnitude of the largest earthquake ever recorded?

The world's largest earthquake with an instrumentally documented magnitude occurred on May 22, 1960 near Valdivia, in southern Chile. It was assigned a magnitude of 9.5 by the United States Geological Survey. It is referred to as the "Great Chilean Earthquake" and the "1960 Valdivia Earthquake."

---

The largest earthquake ever recorded was the great Chilean earthquake in Chile on May 22, 1960. It registered 9.5 by the United States Geological Survey.