Is spam an acronym?

no. Email spam, also referred to as junk email or simply spam, is unsolicited messages sent in bulk by email. The name comes from a Monty Python sketch in which the name of the canned pork product Spam is ubiquitous, unavoidable, and repetitive. Most email spam messages are commercial in nature.