When did etch a sketch come out?

1959 Cassagnes first introduced Etch A Sketch as the L'Ecran Magique at the International Toy Fair in Nuremberg, Germany, in 1959. Toymakers were initially unimpressed by the design. After the Ohio Art Co paid $25,000 to license production and renamed it Etch A Sketch, its popularity took off.