Why do cats put their toys in water?

Cats are saving their prey for later. A feline's water and food bowls are safe spaces. If their instincts are telling them their favorite fuzzy mouse toy is prey, they're might be inclined to put it where the food goes. It's safely stored where they can feast on it later.