Is groot dead?

Adult Groot from the first Guardians of the Galaxy film won't come back, James Gunn has confirmed. ... After uttering “we are Groot” and sacrificing himself to save his fellow Guardians, fans were saddened by the death of a character they had just grown to know and love.