Where are artichokes native to?

Native to the Mediterranean, the artichoke is actually the edible flower bud of a thistle plant in the sunflower family. In fact, if left to develop, the artichoke will blossom into an extraordinary, spiky, brilliant purple flower. Artichokes are one of the oldest know foods, dating to antiquity